Journey Through the Chakras Series

Updated: Jan 24, 2020

Join us for a special five-week series as we Journey Through The Chakras. Shanti Dasi will be leading a 75 minute yoga class each Friday evening, with a key focus on the Chakras.

When - Friday, 28th Feb to 27th March

Time - Fridays, 6pm-7.15pm

Where - Kanuka Yoga Space

Cost - $100 for all five classes, or $24 casual class

Book Online

This series is included for our current members (excluding Intro Offers).

What is a 'Chakra'?

In Indian thought, there are seven centres of spiritual power found in the human body. From the base of the spine, all the way up to the crown of the head. Each energy centre (or, Chakra) represents different human qualities and spiritual powers.

Shanti will be using a combination of asana (postures) and pranayama (breathing techniques) to tone and balance these energy centres. She’ll also be touching on the crystals associated to each chakra. Each class will end with a bespoke Yoga Nidra (guided relaxation) to deeply nourish and restore.

Note - a small pack of crystals will be available to purchase in the studio, or you can bring your own.

Here's a sneak peak at what to expect each week:

Week One:

Root Chakra - Muladhara

I AM - grounding into our strength and rooting to rise up we’ll focus on the energy at the base of the spine and out below the body. 

Week Two:

Sacral Chakra - Svadisthana

I FEEL - flowing with the energy surrounding the hips, sacrum and sex organs, we’ll explore poses to allow a free flow of creativity and sensuality.

Week Three:

Solar Plexus Chakra - Manipura

I WILL - we’ll focus on gently activating the region around the navel responsible for digestion, metabolism and energy. This will support a positive sense of self and purpose.

Week Four:

Heart Chakra - Anahata

I LOVE - encouraging and opening in the upper chest and back we’ll transition into the bridge between lower and higher chakras. The heart will guide us to energies of love, compassion and acceptance.

Throat Chakra - Vissudha

I SPEAK - deeply relaxing the throat, neck and jaw to access our truth, our verbal and non-verbal communication.

Week Five:

Third Eye - Ajna

I KNOW - turning inwards to our ‘perception centre’ above and between the physical eyes, we’ll use poses to tap into our intuition and imagination.

Crown Chakra - Sahasrara I UNDERSTAND - bringing awareness to the crown of the head and above the body for a clear and direct spiritual connection.